Guide to UN Rating Codes

Developed as a set of standards, by the United Nations, UN ratings are essential for shipping or storing hazardous materials. The UN Rating is a series of number and letter codes that show what a container is regulated to handle. They determine this through a series of tests that all containers must undergo if they are to be UN Rated. Current UN Regulations are enforced by the D.O.T. It is up to the filler of the product to determine what UN Rating they need.

UN Markings

Package Type:

1 — Drums/Pails
2 — Barrels
3 — Jerricans
4 — Boxes
5 — Bags
6 — Composite


A – Steel
B — Aluminum
C — Natural Wood
D — Plywood
F — Reconstituted Wood
G — Fiberboard
H — Plastic
L — Textile
M — Paper
N — Metal (other)
P — Glass Stoneware or Porcelain


1 — Closed Head
2 — Open Head

Packaging Group:

X — Meets group I, II, and III’s test
Y — Meets group II, and III’s test
Z — Meets III’s test

Density or Specific Gravity:

Density — For solids that have inner packagings they need to be marked with the maximum gross mass (weight) in kilograms.
Specific Gravity — Stand alone packagings meant to hold liquids need to be marked with the specific gravity rounded down to the first decimal.

Solids/Inner Packaging:

Solids — An “S” in upper case will follow the density.
Liquids — Liquids must show the Hydrostatic test pressure in kPa (kilopascals), rounded down to the nearest 10 kPa.

*Example UN ratings, please talk to your customer service rep to ensure the proper product.